Pure soy milk is produced by straining the liquid of mashed soy-beans cooked in water. Often soy milk is doctored with a sweetening agent, infused with flavoring agents like almond, and fortified with calcium, other minerals, and vitamins. Soy milk is a misnomer - it does not contain any milk and does not even vaguely taste like genuine milk. Soy milk is popular with people who suffer from lactose intolerance (soy milk has no lactose) or milk allergy (it has no casein). Vegans - and other vegetarians who abstain from dairy products are also soy milk drinkers.
** Asian Recipes